top of page

Finally...

I was determined, when I started this blog, that I wouldn't let it become like so many of the ones you can find online. You know the sort of page I mean - it's only got two posts on it, both of them from a long time ago: the first is an excited introduction laying out great plans and encouraging you to stay tuned for more; the second, from six months later, apologising for not having posted as much as originally hoped, committing to writing more frequently, and promising it'll get better from now on. These blogs don't usually have a third post.

I was determined this blog wouldn't become one of those blogs, and yet here we are - my first post was at the beginning of March, my second in late April, and there's been nothing at all for the last six months. Whoops.

It's not that things haven't been happening - it's just that the developments have been by turns positive and negative, helpful and frustrating, encouraging and thoroughly disheartening. When things haven't been working I've wanted to hold off blogging until I've got something positive to share, and when things have been working ok I've wanted to wait until I'd got all the way to the happily-ever-after. But before that ever happened the wind would change and I'd be back waiting for another positive again. This happened a lot over the summer and I've had a pretty annoying few months with this project (more of which in another blog post)...

...HOWEVER...

I'm now reasonably confident that I've managed to sort out the various problems that had been beleaguering me. Finally - finally! - it feels like I've rounded the corner and that the outputs everyone's so excited for are within reach. I hope to make the first set of scans and model files available online at the end of November or start of December. So, now that this blog's been resuscitated, you can follow the project's progress on here as well as on twitter: @3Dpollenproject. I'm looking forward to sharing more good news - and venting my summertime woes - soon. Stay tuned!

Oli

bottom of page